Ordinations 2016

The sun came out on Saturday 25th June for one of the most important days of the year for the Cathedral and Diocese. Six priests and four deacons were ordained by the Archbishop of Wales in a service which filled the Cathedral with over 600 people from across the Diocese. The sermon was given by the Reverend Dr. Ainsley Griffiths, the chaplain to University of Wales Trinity St David in Carmarthen. The Cathedral congratulates the new priests and deacons and wishes them well in their new parishes.

DSCF5897                   DSCF5939       DSCF4137   DSCF6040

The New Deacons are:-Steven Anthony Brett,Llantrisant, Suzanne Brumwell, Rectorial Benefice of Cowbridge, Jordan Christopher Hillebert, Christ Church, Roath Park and Hector Michael Patmore, St Denys Lisvane
DSCF4114  DSCF4132
The new Priests are:- Sandra Hazel Birdsall, Ministry Area of Penarth, Terence John Cox, Rhondda Deanery, James Brian Griffiths, St Mark’s Gabalfa, Rhian Wynn Linecar, City Parish of St John Baptist and Cardiff Dewi Sant, Elizabeth Mary Rees, Ministry Area of Neath and Jonathon Stuart Wright, Rectorial Benefice of Whitchurch

DSCF5915  DSCF5966  DSCF5866 DSCF6106
Almighty God, the giver of all good gifts, by your Holy Spirit you have appointed various orders of ministry in the Church: look with mercy on your servants
now called to be deacons and priests; maintain them in truth, and renew them in holiness, that by word and example they may faithfully serve you, to the glory of your name and the benefit of your Church; through the merits of our Saviour Jesus Christ, who is alive and reigns with you in the unity of the Holy Spirit, now and for ever.  Amen.