Inauguration of Greater Chapter

On Sunday 29th September the Cathedral was full for Choral Evensong as we held the Inauguration of the new Greater Chapter of the Cathedral. All six Cathedrals in the Church in Wales are undergoing major restructuring of their governance and earlier in the year Bishop June appointed a new smaller Chapter which is now the Trustee Body for the Cathedral. This is chaired by the Dean and consists of four Lay Canons and four senior Priests – nine in total.

This process of change in Llandaff culminated in the formation of the new Greater Chapter which will support the Chapter (the Trustees) in what is a new era of governance in the Cathedral. The new Canons of Greater Chapter bring with them experiences from various walks of life.  As well as being an invaluable source of support to the Dean and Chapter the Greater Chapter will also act as ambassadors for the Cathedral in the City, the Diocese and beyond.

The Greater Chapter Canons are:

The three Archdeacons: the Venerable Christopher Smith, the Venerable Peggy Jackson and the Venerable Michael Komor. Seven former members of Chapter: Canon Edwin Counsell, Canon Nigel Cahill, Canon Peter Cox, Canon Stewart Lisk, Canon Philip Masson and Canon Ruth Moverley.

Twelve new members: Lord Dafydd Elis Thomas, Mr Michael Plout, the Rev’d Michael Gable, the Rev’d Michael Jones, the
Rev’d Lynda Newman, Mrs Clare Sherwood, Ms Auriol Miller, the Rev’d Elaine Jenkyns, the Rev’d Jan Gould, the Rev’d Dr Trystan Owain Hughes, Mr Mike Lawley and the Rev’d Sarah Jones.

The new Chapter (the Trustees) are also members of the Greater Chapter, which is chaired by the Dean.