From Advent to Candlemas

The music and readings in this service trace our Christian journey from the expectation of Advent, the birth of the Christ child at Christmas, the visit of the Wise Men at Epiphany, the terror of the escape of Jesus and his parents into Egypt and finally Christ’s Presentation in the Temple at Candlemas.

Music during the service, sung by the Cathedral Choir:

MacMillan – O Radiant Dawn
Beamish – In the stillness
Joubert – There is no rose
Whitbourn – Hodie
Leighton – O leave your sheep
Warlock – Bethlehem Down
Trad. – Coventry Carol
Howells – Nunc dimittis

Hymns to be sung by all:

Come, thou Redeemer of the earth
Hark the glad sound
While shepherds watched
The first Nowell
O worship the Lord
Hail to the Lord who comes

All are welcome.